Texas – we aren’t all as backwards as you think

Oh look – another day, another Texan making all Texans look like backward yokels.
And to make it even better it is one of those successful women we are supposed to look up to.

If you want the full story click here.

Short version – Cheryl Rios, CEO of Dallas marketing and public relations firm Go Ape Marketing basically said that a woman shouldn’t be president because of hormones.

This is a double punch to the gut for me as a Texas woman.

I am still trying to understand and wrap my head around how a business woman can espouse the view that “being the President, that should be left to a man, a good, strong, honorable man.”

Seriously – my head is hurting trying to figure this out.

Like so many others I like the cliche view of what type of person believes and says these things. And that isn’t a successful CEO of her own company.

Women have been fighting for equality for generations. We have been fighting for the right to not be thought of as less capable than men. It is only within the last 100 years that we gained the right to vote.

So what message does a woman at the top saying this send?

It says that women aren’t as capable as men and therefore not equal.

It gives every misogynist out there something to justify their treatment of women.

It tells the girl out there who has been told she isn’t as good or valuable as a boy – that she isn’t.

Statements like this undermine the blood, sweat and tears of so many.

But she has every right to say it. We do live in a free country with wonderful free speech laws.

I am not saying she doesn’t have the right to say it.

I am trying to understand how she believes it.

How do we continue to advance a cause when the very people who benefit from the hard work done by so many – choose to accept and propagate that women are less than men.

I just keep repeating in my head: Ann Richards. Lady Bird, Angela Merkel, Margaret Thatcher.

The first 2 are Texas women who make me proud. The 2nd set are women who prove that females are more than capable of being in charge.

I leave you with a another woman who is definitely capable.

khaleesi