Just Keep Reading

After half-heartedly keeping track of what I have read for the past two or three years, I decided this year that I would keep track of everything I read just to see how many books I do actually read in a year. I use the Goodreads app to help keep track of all the books I’ve read, all the books I want to read and books I’m currently reading. So far this year I have read 31 books. Don’t be impressed; I started the year with a bang (12 books in January) as I had discovered a romance series and could (and did) read through those short books in a night. But as for books that require thought, it’s much slower reading. There are several things I have learned as this experiment progresses:

Some books are slower reads than others. January may have boded well but then came February and Good Lord Bird. Things slowed down if not came to a screeching halt as slogged through this book. It’s a good, if not important, book about race and gender identification but the plot moved as slow as the Mississippi during a dry summer.

I may be skewing my results a bit… Even though I am keeping track just to see, I find myself trying to read as many books as possible. There’s a feeling of accomplishment I get when I’m able to click on the done button and my book is moved over to the “Read” list.

By reading shorter books. I realized that in the past few months that my reading seemed to be focused on shorter and easier books rather than anything very challenging. So this month I’m opting for longer books.

I can be a bit obsessive about my reading. See also the fact that I’m keeping track of this. In addition to that, I find that once I begin a series, I’m often compelled to complete it unless the quality of the writing seems to go down. I noticed this as February and March were filled with books from Colin Cotterill’s Dr. Siri Paboun and Lindsey Davis’s Marcus Didius Falco mystery series since I’m knee deep in both series.

It should be interesting to see how this goes.  Here’s reading and personal obsessions!

