How to Make Stress Your Friend

By Carrie Pokrefke

I love listening to TED Talks.  And I love finding new, good TED Talks that are helpful.

This is one from Kelly McGonigal on stress titled, “How to Make Stress Your Friend.”  She is a health psychologist and for ten years, she has been telling people that, “stress makes you sick.”  Turns out, studies show that it’s how you think about stress matters.  She also presents the idea that, “Caring creates resilience.”

I think my favorite line is actually the last line when she says, “one thing we know for certain is that chasing meaning is better for your health than trying to avoid discomfort. And so I would say that’s really the best way to make decisions, is go after what it is that creates meaning in your life and then trust yourself to handle the stress that follows.”  

Watch her TED Talk by clicking on the link below.