Do-It-Yourself Wardrobe Boxes

by Carrie Pokrefke

I am guilty of having lots of clothes. And, try as I might to purge and purge, I still have a lot. When the seasons change, I swap closets. It’s been chilly longer than normal, so I haven’t needed to make the switch until last weekend.

I decided this year to try something different. Instead of putting the winter clothes into my second closet, I plan to put them in storage. If you have ever moved, you’ve probably purchased wardrobe boxes to move your clothes. The tall boxes are way too tall for my clothes and the shorter wardrobe boxes fit my dresses. I thought about putting my skirts and tops in one of those, but they are just too big and there is a lot of wasted space and money.
Over the weekend, I ran to Lowe’s and Home Depot to get supplies to make my own wardrobe boxes. I brainstormed while I walked the aisles and found some things that will work. If you are moving or want to store some clothes, consider using my instructions below to make your own wardrobe box for tops or skirts. It will save money and space. I think this would be a good way to store some children’s clothes, too. You could get even smaller boxes.  The great thing about using this method to move is all your clothes are already on hangers!  (Or even when storing your clothes, they stay on hangers).  You don’t have to worry about folding everything to pack/store it and when it is time to unpack, you just pull your clothes out of the box and hang them directly in your closet.
You will need to decide what boxes you need. The Home Depot “Large” box is actually taller than their “Extra Large” box. Measure whatever clothing article you are trying to store to figure out how tall you need the box to be.
I bought a double pack at Lowe’s of the Rubbermaid silver closet rods – they were 26″ each. I also purchased two packages of the white hang rod end caps.Photo May 27, 6 05 51 PM
Once I got home, I assembled the box. I then took one rod out of the package and marked the rod so I could cut it. I left enough room so that once I put the end caps on, there would be enough to hang outside the box so I could put the end caps on, but not TOO much that the rod could catch on something.
Marking the first rod before cutting

Marking the first rod before cutting

I cut a few inches off the rod with my cut-off wheel on my Dremel. I did this outside. Please don’t forget to wear eye protection!
Protect your eyes!

Protect your eyes!

To make the first cut on the box, I used a pen to mark the halfway part on the width of my box and about 1.5 inches from the top of the box.
Marking the box

Marking the box

Then I used my Dremel again to make the cut – like an “x.” I made the identical marks on the opposite side of the box.
Dremel cuts

Dremel cuts

After that, I put the rod through the hole and put the end caps on.
Assembly time

Assembly time

Then I hung my clothes and was done! Super easy!
Photo May 27, 4 44 44 PM
My skirts in the first box

My skirts in the first box

