Apparently it is totally OK to grope a guy against his wishes

I usually record shows and then watch them – so I don’t have to watch commercials.

Occasionally I get distracted and forget that I can fast forward and end up watching a few.

This is how I came to see the Nationwide commercial with Mindy Kaling.

The premise is good.

But the ending made me go hmmmm…

If you haven’t watched the commercial you can check it out here.

The premise is that women are sometimes invisible or feel invisible.

My question comes towards the end. Mindy has wandered on to an outdoor neighborhood basketball court. As she thinks she is invisible she begins touching the muscles of one of the male players. When he looks shocked and calls her on it she basically tells him that there are worse things than a beautiful woman touching him.

Take a moment and switch the gender roles and tell me if you’d still be OK with that commercial?

I wouldn’t.

We are trying to teach young men that no means no. That dismissing a girl’s discomfort is not OK.

But apparently it is ok if it is a woman doing the unwanted groping.

Yes – get that this is a commercial – but the hypocrisy of scenario presented irks me every time I see it.

Mindy is a very talented woman.

I would love to hear why she did this commercial and what she thinks about the message the last scene sends as opposed to the message the rest of the commercial seems to be wanting to send.

 

