Into the deep

Into the deep

I took this photograph with my (new) beloved 50mm f1.4 lens while I was in New Hampshire in June.  I had been lusting after this lens for a long time, and I finally pulled the trigger on purchasing it prior to flying out of Australia as I was sure it would be fabulous for street photography in New York.  In fact, it turned out to be a far more versatile lens than I ever suspected, and I used it to shoot my entire New Hampshire sojourn as well as my time in NYC.  I loved how the lens changed the way I saw the world through my camera – different depth of field, less wide angle leading to tighter vistas, new ways of using light.  Everywhere I went, I had my camera with me.  It was so tempting to have the camera in front of my eye at all times, but I was also conscious of needing actually to experience everything that was going on in any particular moment.  I admit that it was a struggle at time to find a balance between getting the shot and living the moment, but it added a poignant depth to everything that I was encountering.

Why am I telling you all of this?  Because I’m going to be able to live the same joy and intensity when I head back to New Hampshire and New York in September – less than 8 weeks away now.  Part of me feels ridiculously self-indulgent, but most of me just feels so, so happy that I get to plunge into the deep of more photography and writing and love at Squam Lake again so soon.

How lucky am I?

