Thoughts of summers past

2014-01-22 20.08.48Summer has well and truly left the building here in Melbourne, and this morning I woke up to find that winter had moved in for the day despite the fact that we’re only a month into autumn.  It was overcast and I could hear rain on my tin roof.  Yes, it was difficult to haul my sorry rear end out of bed and out the door to work.

Anyway, this summer just gone was busy for me in many respects, including on the photography front.  I participated in Project 55 again and even though I mainly used my iPod touch to shoot with for convenience, I think I still managed to capture some images that encapsulate what it is to live through a Melbourne summer.

This shot was taken as the sun set on a long, long day when the temperature reached 44 degrees Celsius (111 degrees Fahrenheit).  The light was simply amazing and I felt like I was walking through molasses because the air was so thick with heat.  Every person who walked past me seemed to be moving in slow motion – a heat-induced languor that was impossible to shake.

Every time I look at this photo I’m instantly taken back to that late afternoon and I can practically feel the heat.  It’s funny how we instantly become nostalgic for such discomfort as soon as autumn coolness creeps in.

