Hooker or Haute?

Red Peep Toes

First off, I must give credit where credit is due…the catchy title is not my own.  I got it and the idea for this post from our very own Amber.  This weekend she was lamenting the fact that she had bought a perfectly good pair of red peep toe pumps yet had never worn them due to their possible negative connotation (hooker shoes).  My thought on the matter was that I had never seen a hooker in red peep toe pumps and wouldn’t necessarily make that connection although I did concede that call girls might indeed wear them and one of our mutual friends suggested concubines might as well.

That conversation brought to mind a few other items I thought might be haute but passed over by those of us not willing to risk our reputations lest society decide the item is more hooker-esque.

1. Fishnet Stockings – at first blush hooker, right?  What about all those Goth kids pulling these off?  I’m not sure these pass for haute, but I think hooker is out.

2. Mini Skirts – again, hooker.  Only the plastic ones in my opinion.  Although I personally am past my mini skirt wearing days, I’ve seen plenty of cute ones worn.  Gotta watch the bend though…that will take you right back to hooker if you’re not careful.

3. Visible Bra Straps – not my thing, but supposedly haute to some.

4. Red Lipstick – depends on the shade.  There are some more tasteful than others.

5. Braless tops – another item I wouldn’t dare wear today, but have been tempted to wear in the past.  Not sure if these are haute or not.

What have you put back on the shelf for fear of being labeled?

