Vegan Lentil Soup

by Carrie Pokrefke

Sometime last year, I read (part of) The Four Hour Body by Tim Ferris.  Honestly, the only thing I remember from the book is that he talks about lentil soup.  I got on a lentil soup kick after that.  This was back when I was eating meat, so I had chicken in my soup.  I’ve tweaked it now to make it vegan.  I came up with this pretty basic recipe after making it so many times.  It’s easy to make and makes a lot.  I typically make a pot on Sunday nights and it will last me all week.  Plus, it doesn’t cost a lot to make, so it is budget-friendly.  Enjoy!!
 
 
Carrie’s Vegan Lentil Soup
Ingredients:
Olive oil
1 onion, diced up
3 cloves of garlic
Italian seasoning
salt and pepper
1 lb bag of lentils, rinsed
Water
Small bunch of kale
2 cups of vegetable broth
Water
 
 
Heat the oil in a large pot (3.5-4 qt stock pot).
Saute the onion and garlic (if you like garlic, feel free to add more)
Salt and pepper your onion and garlic
When the onions are translucent, add your lentils.  Toss everything together.
Add the broth and enough water to cover the lentils with liquid
Add the kale and Italian seasoning
Cover and bring to a boil
Once the soup has started boiling, reduce the heat and keep covered.
Check on the soup about every 30 minutes to give it a taste.  If it needs more seasoning, add more of whatever it needs.  Also make sure there is enough liquid in the pot.
I let my lentil soup cook for about an hour and a half.  I like to let it sit on the stove and fill my place with delicious smells!
 
 

Variations:
I tried to use low-sodium chicken broth before, but it was still too salty for me, so I used to use all water – this is when I added chicken to my soup.
You can add pieces of rotisserie chicken or pre-cooked chicken or sausage
I’ve added carrots, celery, sweet potatoes, and tomatoes to my soup to give it different flavors
Instead of Italian seasoning, you can substitute your favorite seasoning
 
Vegan lentil soup cooking

Vegan lentil soup cooking

