Xerophytic – what I sincerely hope I and my yard are

I live in West Texas. And in case you didn’t know it is dry out here. I mean really dry. Severe drought conditions last year caused water restrictions to be put in place. But here we are a year later in exactly the same spot. Why are we in the same spot? Because someone forgot to send out the memo telling us that we live in a desert and should stop pretending like we live somewhere with occasional moisture from the sky.

 

Xerophytic – able to survive drought

 

I’m not entirely sure I or my sad yard qualify.

 

We are attempting to go back to a more “climate friendly” front yard – which could also read – we have quit watering the front and just mow the weeds when necessary. It is a whole back to nature thing.

 

What would help is if the people we bought the house from hadn’t planted 3 pine trees. Yeah – Pine trees. In West Texas. The edge of the Chihuahuan Desert. And they planted them right next to the house. Directly over the air conditioning unit. The foresight of that landscaping choice is mind boggling.

 

One of them is now completely dead (we think) and the other 2 are dying. Slowly and painfully. By painfully I mean dropping buckets of dead pine needles directly into the air conditioning unit that I have to clean out.

 

Putting the pool underneath the large canopy of a well established Pecan tree was not the best thought either. The pecans and those lovely fuzzy green faux caterpillars  drop directly into the pool. And it seems the squirrels find it enjoyable to find miscellaneous other nuts and objects to drop into the pool as well. Preferably when one of us is on a pool float and completely relaxed.

 

Squirrels are evil and have a sick sense of humor.

 

But back to the drought. We stopped watering our pavement years ago. It never seemed to do anything anyway. It seems that many of our neighbors in this fair city have not given up on their pavement though.

 

Many is the morning I drive to work and see shiny wet sidewalks and street gutters.

 

What is really fun is to watch someone water their pavement at 4:00 in the afternoon when it is 102 outside. It is science in action.

 

Really hot pavement + poorly aimed sprinkler = evaporation in less that 10 minutes (sometimes less than 5)

 

I just wish I knew what their pavement did when watered that mine didn’t. I feel like I’m missing something really awesome. I mean it must be really awesome if they keep doing it while knowing that it is a ridiculously wasteful use of a very scarce resource.

 

Right?

 

I fear Midland is not Xerophytic.

 

 

 

