Never say Never

If I were to make a list of all the things I said I’d never do, never be, never say, never eat, never want… well it would stretch farther than I can possibly fathom.

Most of those nevers turned out to be things that, as my life went about its merry way, made no sense to adhere to.

The first one that comes to mind is saying I would never live in Midland if given a choice. Well, I am living in Midland. And it was a choice. What the 15 year old me who often spoke those words could not have imagined was actually wanting the slower pace and family friendly amenities. Teenage me also had no understanding of the importance of housing prices and cost of living. Then again 15 year old me was still seriously contemplating the whole “starving artist” thing.

When I was in my early 20’s I said I would never marry someone who had been divorced. This misguided statement came from a belief at the time that anyone who was divorced would come with too much baggage and why would I want to saddle myself with that (ex-wives, kids, ex in-laws, alimony, child support, visitation and so on). Well I am married to a divorced man who came with 2 kids and an ex-wife and everything that comes with that. And I love him and those 2 kids more than I could have imagined. Has it been complicated at times? That would be putting it mildly. Has it been worth it? Absofreakinlutely. Just able to legally drink me was still so very new to real relationships and life that she couldn’t have had a clue what she actually wanted in a date much less a marriage. Oh so much easier to put everything in neat little boxes and label them back then.

I could fill up several tomes with the phrases that I swore I would never repeat that my parents said.

Don’t make me pull this car over.

Who said life is fair?

Not in my house.

I don’t care what (insert name here) is wearing/doing/saying. You are not.

Because I said so.

I have managed not to sing “I Got you Babe” off key whilst my child sits mortified in the back seat hoping that their friends have some how magically become deaf and can’t hear. (Thanks for that one Dad!)

There are a couple of nevers I sincerely wish I had stuck with. Never trying sushi would have been a brilliant one to actually stick with. I have tried it 6 different times now and have barely managed to avoid throwing it right back up at the table each and every time. I do not like the taste, texture or even the concept of raw fish. I have been more than game about trying it – but I do feel I can safely say I will not be doing so again… ever.

Being talked into watching “Titanic” all the way through was a complete waste of precious hours of my life. Should have trusted my gut and stuck with never watching it. But, five years after it came out I let myself be led down the dark path and watched it in its entirety. Never again.

 

