Motivation

Have you seen the movie “Awakenings” starring Robin Williams and Robert DeNero, directed by Penny Marshall?  Based on a true story, Robin Williams plays a neurologist who is assigned to a ward of seemingly catatonic patients with no hope of rehabilitation.  He discovers that some of these patients are motivated by particular stimuli – human touch, projectiles, music.  It’s a pretty amazing movie in my opinion and I would encourage you to give it a go.

Were I to be one of the patients mentioned above, music would be my motivating force without a doubt.  I need music like I need sunshine to survive.  No, not in the sense that my body will cease to produce items necessary to my survival and overall health, but in the sense that, mentally, music aligns my thoughts and soothes my soul in a way nothing else can.

Lately my Pandora playlists have been all over the place.  Some days I need a little extra beat to back my rhythm, so I head over to “Show Me How You Burlesque” radio.  Other days, or hours honestly, “Home – Marc Broussard” radio is more in order.  Tonight, as I work into the wee hours of the morning yet again “Yanni” radio suits me just fine.

What music gets you moving?

