To Your Health

Our house has been hit by something, or several things. Allergies, teething, a cold? I don’t even know, and that’s frustrating. But I’ve found a few things that seem to help the gamut of symptoms we often have. My family will tell you, instead of saying, “I have an app for that,” I say, “I have an essential oil for that!” Over a year ago, I went to an essential oil seminar taught by a midwife and learned how to use this kit I was given as a gift when my son was born. I think I use an essential oil at least once a day now, if not for health, then for cleaning.

Lavender herb and essential oil

Essential oils have been used for thousands of years. They are the “volatile liquids that are distilled from plants (including their respective parts such as seeds, bark, leaves, stems, roots, flowers, fruit, etc.).” It is important to use pure, therapeutic-grade essential oils. (Anything less may not achieve the desired results and, in some cases could be toxic.) I have found Young Living, doTerra, and Butterfly Express carry quality essential oils. Because essential oils are very potent, oftentimes they need to be applied to the skin with a carrier oil. Your feet are the second fastest area of your body to absorb oils because of the large pores. Some carrier oils include coconut oil, grapeseed oil, and almond oil.

My family used to be a little skeptical, but they are now essential oil users too! Orange oil has even significantly helped my mom’s arthritis in her hands, and my husband has been known to hand out lactation advice to the general public (don’t tell him I told you). Here is a list of my favorites and their uses:

Peppermint: For stomach aches. I can’t believe how well this works. Seriously, it just takes minutes. Mix 2-3 drops with one tablespoon of a carrier oil and massage directly onto the abdomen.

Lavender: Use to minimize scars, sooth cuts and burns, or massage onto the bottoms of your feet for calming. I have also used it on my toddler to help with fevers (apply to bottoms of feet).

Cloves: For immune support. At the first sign of illness in your house, apply to the bottoms of everyone’s feet! This is a ritual in our house now : )

Geranium: To increase mother’s milk supply. Mix 2-3 drops with one tablespoon of a carrier oil and massage into the side of the breast, under the arm pit.

Breezey (This is a specific blend by Butterfly Express): For chest colds, coughs, asthma. Mix 2-3 drops with one tablespoon of a carrier oil and massage on chest and back to cover lung area. Can also be added to your humidifier.

For more information, visit doTerra: An Intro to Essential Oils.

Have you ever used essential oils? What are your favorites? I’d love to hear!

Wishing you good health this New Year!

-Erin

Disclaimer: The information in this post is not meant to substitute any advice from your doctor or healthcare provider. I am not a doctor, just a mom who found what works for her family! Please consult your doctor or healthcare provider if you have any questions about using essential oils.

Higley, Connie, and Alan Higley. Quick Reference Guide for Using Essential Oils. 11th ed. Olathe, KS: Abundant Health, 1998.
Print.

Picture via here.

