A Very Merry Christmas To You

I don’t know how it happened, but I seem to have gotten lucky this year in that several of my post dates fell on holidays.  I’m lucky because, when I agreed to become a resident, my first thought – well, one of them anyway – was “what in the world am I going to write about??”  L.U.C.K.Y.

It’s December 24th today.  Christmas Eve tonight.  Tomorrow we will enjoy our family Christmas morning.  I am especially looking forward to it this year since our son is more into the festivities.  Last year, he was excited and fascinated by all the pretty things (lights, tinsel, etc.).  This year, he’s more aware of the role Santa is to play and that it’s baby Jesus’ birthday.

Today we will bake.  Christmas Cake Pops are on the menu as is Mississippi Mud Pie.  Both will be first attempts so keep your fingers crossed for us.  Mississippi Mud Pie is something I’ve been trying to replicate for years.  One of my aunts used to make it every year and she has so far kept the recipe a secret.  Every now and again I find a recipe that looks promising and give it a shot.  It’s usually never as good as hers was.  I’ll keep trying though and one day maybe I’ll find it.

On this day of reflection…the calm before the storm if you will…I’d like to share with you one of my favorite Christmas Carols.  It’s not something you’re likely to hear on the radio a million and one times from Thanksgiving until now, so don’t cringe like that.  😉  Just find a quiet place and enjoy.  If you like to see the lyrics while you listen, as I do, click on “see more” under the description to view them.


Merry Christmas.
~ G

