Plenty to be Thankful For (thank you Irving Berlin)

I have started and discarded at least 7 different drafts of my post for this week. Did I want to talk about what is at the forefront of most people’s minds at the moment? Did I want to distract myself and others from that? And here I sit at 9:10 am still having no clue what to write.

I don’t think I am ready to talk about the tragedy that has so recently cast a darkness over this holiday season. Right now I will leave that to people who are far more eloquent than I. If you wish to read a truly lovely expression from someone on this my friend Kristy Messer wrote this yesterday:

http://kristymesser.com/?p=257 

I have a lot to be thankful for this holiday season. That is what I think I will focus on. 

I am lucky enough to still have 2 grandmothers with me. Both are very dear to me and have taught me much. Two incredibly strong and amazing women that I am proud to call not only grandmother but friend. 

My parents completely rock. They may have embarrassed the crap out of me at various points in my life (and unless your dad has appeared on local film in a bikini more than once you don’t get to try to one-up me on this) but they have always supported me and loved me. I consider myself quite blessed to have them as my mom and dad.

 My younger brother inspires me. He has overcome much but has never lost his beautiful heart.

 My older brother and his wife are free spirits who remind me that anything is possible.

 My dear friend and chosen brother Lance. A friend who has shown me time and time again what the word friend can really mean. 

The most amazing and wonderful niece on the planet. Cutrina is my sunshine. From the moment I first held her less than an hour after her entrance into this world (on my grandparents wedding anniversary no less) I knew my heart had been captured and expanded in a way I could never have imagined. My little midget.

 I am also lucky to be stepmother to a pair of boys who have captured their own piece of my heart. Being a stepmother is an often bewildering experience but the two I was lucky enough to have enter my life make it worth it. 

Then there is my husband. When I met him 8 ½ years ago I knew I had met the only person I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. We have now been married for 3 ½ years and I am still certain there is no one else for me. It has not been all rainbows and lollipops and sunshine (anyone who tells you it has is lying) but every bit of it has been worth it. In my husband I have found someone I can laugh with, cry with, argue with and make up with. The love we have amazes me. 

Of course I am also thankful for a roof over my head, food on my table and my loving animal roommates. And for the friends I have both in town and around the world. Thank you to Amber for asking me to be a part of this. 

And for the little things like a grande chai latte with a ½ shot of gingerbread syrup, Grimm, broadway musicals and George Takei. 

Merry Christmas

tree

