Here she comes a-wassailing

I love Christmas.  Well, let’s break that down a little bit.  If I’m perfectly honest, I’m not at all keen on all the lead up frenzy and craziness, the packed shopping centres, ridiculous traffic and the pressure to catch up with everyone you’ve ever met before the end of the year.

However, I do love the smaller details – carefully wrapping presents for my loved ones, arranging the champagne glasses into which the French champagne will be poured before lunch on Christmas Day, and listening to my favourite Christmas carols.  My take on Christmas music is a little bit different from Amber’s, mainly I suspect because of the amount of time I spent in choirs that were imbued with the English choral tradition.  Anyway, here are a few of my favourites that I have sung over the years – I hope you enjoy them!

Jesus Christ the Apple Tree – simple yet complicated, and beautiful:

Once in Royal David’s City – my choir used to process into the cathedral at the start of the Christmas Eve midnight service singing this carol:

The Sussex Carol – a traditional English carol:

O Come All Ye Faithful (I love the magnificent descant in the final verse):

Merry Christmas to you if you celebrate it, and happy holidays if Christmas isn’t your thing!

