Up Close and Personal With the Baraza: Geneva Dummer

20121207-083130.jpg

Photo credit to Egomedia Photography

What could be better than one hot, talented mommy interviewing another hot, talented mommy? Nothing, that’s what. Erin King gives us insight into Geneva Dummer.

1. I remember one of your posts about music, and we were privileged to see your performance!

I’m not sure if privileged is the right term, but thanks for the compliment. Mike writes good stuff.

2. How long have you been singing?

I didn’t really tap into it until my Senior year of high school when I was encouraged by my incredibly supportive friends to join the choir and participate in a musical. Once I left high school, I didn’t get back into it until I discovered karaoke. It’s been a downward spiral since then. 😉

3. Have you always been a lover of music?

Yes. Music has always been a part of me. I also play saxophone, flute, and hand bells – none of which I’m exceptionally gifted at, but I enjoy trying. Someday I’d like to learn how to play the piano and the guitar.

4. As a work-at-home mommy, what is the best thing about your day and what is one of your struggles?

The best part of my day is picking my son up at daycare. Once he got close to 2, he was bored with me and needed more attention than I could give him as I attempted to carry on adult conversations and stay on top of my tasks. I lived for nap time and, on those days when nap time never came, I was devastated by my lack of productivity that day. I decided the time had come for both of us to branch out. He was not pleased at first, but honestly enjoys his time at school now. He’s so excited to tell me about his day and I am better able to put the day behind me to focus on him the way he deserves. Sure there are plenty of times when I need to work after he’s home, but he’s had the opportunity to exercise his mind and his body that day – two things that are very important to me – and I am better able to be present with him rather than resent the interruption.

5. What advice would you give to other moms looking to work from home?

Do what works best for you and your child…you know what it is and that it’s not the same for everyone nor is it the same from day to day. It’s ok. Just go with it and do the best you can.

6.  Where did you and your husband meet?

We met in a bar…in Hawaii. Long story short, he’s a truly gifted wing man. 😉

7.  Will you tell us about your business, The Meeting Place? How was this idea born?

The Meeting Place is more concept than reality right now, honestly, born out of my observation of small businesses struggling to survive. The Meeting Place will meet their office needs and help them develop their web/social media presence while allowing them to retain a higher percentage of their earnings. I’ve held off putting the plan into action until my husband’s business venture, Arguelles Auto Sales, is running within certain parameters. In the meantime, I’m enjoying the opportunity to sharpen my skills with the Heritage Trails Partnership as their virtual administrator (www.gulfcoasttrails.org for more info on that group) and continue to help out at Arguelles as I’m needed.

8. You are a veteran, correct? Coming from a family of many servicemen, I’d like to thank you for your contributions to our country!

Yes , I am a veteran. I was in the US Navy for 7 years as an Avionics Technician. Thank you for your appreciation & I’d like to send my gratitude to your family members.

9. What do you miss about being active-duty?

Hmmm…tough call on this one. I enjoyed my time in and wouldn’t trade it for the world, but I don’t miss much about it. One thing I’ll probably never get to do again is be the first one to fire up the power on an aircraft in the dead of night (I worked mid shift for much of my time in). I do miss that.

10. What is your favorite dessert?

Depends on the day. Sometimes a bowl of fruit works just fine and other days, well, there is simply a deep seated NEED for some type of chocolate. I don’t put up much of a fight either way.

11. How often do you go back to Disney World (where you wed!)?

As often as we can. It has been an especially wonderful experience to share the World with our son. We usually make it once a year, but we live within driving distance so it’s not nearly as expensive as it could be. I also have access to an amazing network of crafty Disney planning aficionados who help us keep our costs reasonable (www.disneymooner.com – It’s not just for wedding planning).

Who will be in the spotlight next week? Stay tuned . . .

