Finders, Seekers

I have recently concluded a job search which resulted in a new job in Austin.  Along the way, I learned I don’t know much about job searching but here a few things I picked up:

  1. Phone interviews suck and unless you have excellent hearing, personality to spare, and the ability to either create an astral projection of yourself into the room or manipulate the minds of your interviewers, it will be difficult to sell your abilities to future employers.
  2. A good resume will open all kinds of doors.
  3. Face-to-face interviews are probably best.  If you get a chance to do face-to-face, do it.  If you can’t do face-to-face, go for a video chat.
  4. Interview follow-up is equally important.  Send an email or letter to the interviewer after the interview to thank them for their time.
  5. Monster.com is an excellent resource for finding jobs.
  6. Be prepared for interviews.  Keep the job description nearby or have covered it thoroughly.  Research the future employer to find out about them and to create questions to ask the interviewer.
  7. Never discount the working of fate.  I vaguely remember the application information I sent to my future employer.  They called almost a month after I sent the packet to them.  I couldn’t remember anything about the job.  I didn’t want to bother with the interview because I thought I would get a different job. I left the house at 7 AM, drove four hours to the interview, and changed my clothes in my car.  My head and sinuses pounded thanks to Austin allergens.  In spite of all this, my interviewer/future boss was warm and kind, I was personable, and my writing test flowed easily.  It just worked.

I hope if you are looking for a job I wish you the best of luck.  If not, I wish you happiness at your job.

Barazers, you have any additional advice for job seekers?

