Literature appreciation in the 21st century

I love Jane Austen’s novels.  She is such a brilliant author and probably one of the most insightful social commentators of her day.

I also love the various television adaptations of Jane Austen’s novels, many of which are the product of or associated with the BBC.  Gotta love the Beeb.  I love the detail of the costumes and the seemingly unselfconscious way in which the actors move in them, despite how different they are from modern day dress.

[Photo credit]

I love the beautiful English countryside and country homes that are used to such great effect in each adaption.

But, perhaps most of all, I adore the dashing heroes …

[Photo credit]

I mean, what man doesn’t look good in period costume?  Don’t you agree??

[Photo credit]

