Is It Dready In Here?

By Katie Shaw

Last week I celebrated my dreadlock’s three month anniversary. I honestly wasn’t sure I was going to make it this long, but my patience is doing better than I anticipated. They’re finally beginning to look like individual locks instead of just one big frizz ball growing out of my head. Have a look from the back.

20120724-110214.jpg

And here is a cartoon image of my beloved dreads when they’re fully mature. Cartoon courtesy of Kasey Snow.

20120724-110415.jpg

Most of the responses to my dreads from family and friends have been positive. I don’t think much of what I do surprises many of them anymore. The question I receive the most is “why?” And my answer? Why not? One of my dearest friends once told me that a person’s hair is the one thing they can change about themselves that is not permanent. The dreads are here to stay for a while, but change is just a buzz cut away whenever the time is right.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done to your hair, dear friends? Please share!

