Summer Funzies

By Katie Shaw

Summer is so close I can taste it—fresh fruit, road trips, reading any book I like whenever I so choose, sweet sweat, and the list goes on. There are so many wonderful, fantastical things about summer, so I’ve decided to present you with my summer favorites.

#1-No School

I love filling my head full of knowledge during the school year, but that three-month-long break is just so satisfying.

flickr.com

#2-Ice-Cold Water from a Nalgene

Nothing is quite as refreshing in the Texas heat as a swig of ice-cold water from a Nalgene. BPA-free, of course.

luckyvitamin.com

#3-Driving with the Windows Down

With the blazing Texas heat, any sane person would have the windows rolled up, blasting the A/C. But I have such a hard time with that. I MUST drive with the windows down wherever I go during the summer. For some reason when they’re rolled up, I feel so disconnected from the world. And who doesn’t like wind-blown hair?

Photo by Josh Moore via Vice.

#4-Staying Up Late and Sleeping In

I crave those late nights when I can stay up reading a book until I can’t keep my eyes open, then not having to worry about setting/waking up to an alarm. Ahhh.

joannagoddard.blogspot.com

#5-Traveling

The summer is meant for impromptu trips to wherever, whenever. This June, I’m heading to St. Petersburg, Russia for two weeks, and I CANNOT wait. And I’m sure there will be a few trips to be had that weren’t exactly planned.

Scanned by tomboystyle.blogspot.com from National Geographic Photographs: The Milestones.

What are your favorite things about summer, dear friends? Planning any wonderful getaways?

