Ginger Pop: Sulu the Savior

When I was about 19, I was visiting the annual Broadway Flea Market in support of Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS. (If you live in the New York area and have never been to one of their fundraising events, I highly recommend it–Broadway Bares was something I know I’ll never forget.) Amongst the throng of Broadway and Soap stars signing autographs that day sat one George Takei. I knew who he was, of course, but I can’t say that I cared one way or the other. Despite the topic of this post, I am not going to pretend to be any sort of Trekkie. While I enjoy some aspects of the cultural influence, it would devalue real fans for me to categorize myself under their name.

The impression I took away of George Takei that afternoon was a well-spoken, calm, likeable man with a soothing voice and beautiful signature (seriously, it’s one of the prettiest autographs I have). Little did I know what genius danced beneath that zen facade.

If you are not following George Takei on Facebook, open a new window and do so NOW. I promise you that just reading what he posts everyday will make your life a little better no matter your mood. Why, you might ask?

First of all, his wit is its own special gift. Takei posts pictures with hilarious captains. While some of them certainly reflect his lifestyle and wonderful work for equal rights, many of them are Sci-Fi/Fantasy based. I have to put down my coffee before reading some of them.

Besides that, he loves his fans. There are some actors who like to pretend they are too good for what made them famous. Takei is not one of those. He posts images sent by fans and frequently refers to them. His posts are not to make you buy his fragrance. They are just to entertain people. (He does promote his fundraisers for charity, but I don’t consider that truly self-serving.)

Finally, if you are still not convinced that George Takei is perhaps the coolest person you never knew you wanted to LIKE, here some samples of things he’s posted in just the last few days:

Takei's Comment: Supah well played, in my view.

Takei's Comment: From a fan. This is funny, but I don't know why.

Takei's Comment: From a fan. Product placement is everything.

Take's Comment: This is nerdy beyond measure--in short, priceless.

And my current favorite . . .

Takei's Comment: From a fan. As they say, "true story."

 

So go forth readers and let George Takei brighten your days. Make it so.

