Donkeys in the desert

Petra-Jordan-donkey-boy

I can’t stop thinking about my time in Jordan.  Seriously, if you ever get the chance, make sure you go there – it is the most amazing country.  The landscapes are vast, the culture ancient, and the people so welcoming.  Everywhere I went, the locals would ask where I was from and then say “Welcome to Jordan!” – without exception.

I took this photo at Petra, the ancient Nabatean sacred site located in the middle of Jordan.  One of the features of the site is the donkeys that can be hired by tourists tired from a day of hiking around the site.  Young Bedouin boys astride the donkeys shout to passing walkers “Donkey?  Want a donkey, sir?”  The people who accept the offer invariably look uncomfortable once they climb aboard their allocated steed and it shambles the 2km towards the exit.  This shot was taken at the end of the day, and it was so clear to me that the little boy just wanted to be at home out of the dust and the heat.  I’m pretty sure the donkeys felt the same way.

